top of page

A Day of Coordinator Costs WHAT??


When I got married, I wanted to have a day of coordinator but as I looked for one, I was put off by the price. Why would I pay $1,000 or more to someone when I had done EVERYTHING already?! They just needed to be there for one day and make sure it all went well! So I didn't get one.

I had no day of coordinator and my ceremony started 45 minutes late. Confetti I wanted sprinkled on the tables wasn't used. Extra friends popped up to make speeches, which were lovely, but took about 30 minutes to get through. Then, as my new husband and I were about to make our exit, I realized there was still a table full of gifts with no plan on how to get them back to our apartment. There was no plan how to get anything back to our apartment!

This is part of what motivated me to become a wedding planner. That, and the fact I loved every moment of planning my wedding.

What I soon came to realize was why everyone had wanted so much money. It is a lot of work. It is usally 9-12 hours on your feet, constantly moving. It is stressful having to make decision that will effect a day someone else spent a year planning. Making sure "everything goes right" means putting out a lot of fires and directing a lot of people.

To do the job properly it's actually more than one day. You need to meet with your clients and get to know them, know their vision. You have to visit the site with them and the caterer. Even if you've worked the venue before, you need to know how this couple envisions the space being used, get to know the caterer and many other details about the day, the site visit is very important. As is the ceremony rehearsal. Even if the ceremony site has a coordinator, we could have valuable advice to contribute at the rehearsal. It's also the last chance for any questions or changes. For me, it’s also where I take décor items off my couple’s hands.

The good news to the couple is that you'll get invaluable information and advice with your coordinator. If you haven't found every vendor, they might even help you save some money by recommending a favorite of theirs. They'll read over your contracts and know what you're paying for and if you don't get it on your wedding day, they can help you get your money back.

The most important job the day of coordinator has isn't the setting up, running the time line, or the clean up. It's handling whatever surprises pop up. Things like: two of the same vendors showing up, a caterer running out of food, a caterer not knowing the coding for which guest gets which meal. And countless other things no one can predict.

Your coordinator will handle everything and not let the problems make their way back to you. They will have your back, defend your vision, and take on the stress for you.

So believe me, the price can be a little shocking but take the time to find out why. See what they offer, what they've been through. And if you really can’t stretch the budget, ask them if they could work with you. Don't let the price tag scare you off; you want all your hard work to be perfectly executed!

bottom of page